To-day I discovered a wonderful resource for anyone intersted in collective intelligence. The site is http://p2pfoundation.net/Main_Page and contains a treasure trove of resources. Michel Bauwens co-ordinates this site. Although ‘Peer-to-Peer’ sounds kind of obscure, it is in fact guided by two fascinating maxims:

  1. ending the destruction of the biosphere by abandoning the dangerous conceptions of pseudo-abundance in the natural world (i.e. based on the assumption that natural resources are infinite);
  2. promoting free cultural exchange by abandoning the innovation-inhibiting conceptions of pseudo-scarcity in the cultural world (i.e. based on the assumption that the free flow of culture needs to be restricted through excessive copyrights etc…).

I touch on these topic in ‘Teaching an Anthill to Fetch’ and I wished I had known this site existed before completing the writing process. I would have certainly included many references to this valuable material.

